Meditations on the Word of God

Psalm 34:1-3

MEDITATION:  “I will bless the Lord at all times: his praise shall continually be in my mouth.  My soul shall make her boast in the Lord: the humble shall hear thereof, and be glad.  O magnify the Lord with me, and let us exalt his name together.”  (KJV)

REVELATION:  The Lord is to be praised at all times and in every situation.

APPLICATION:  I will bless the Lord at all times:  His praise shall continually be in my mouth.  It’s easy to praise God when everything thing is going well in our lives and according to our plans.  It’s easy to talk about how good God is, how worthy He is, how faithful He is, how He blesses us, etc…, during those times.  God is the same good, worthy, faithful, blessing-bestowing God when things aren’t going well in our lives nor according to our plans.  The psalmist reminds us that the Lord is to be praised at all times.  When we’re up, He is to be praised; when we’re down, He is to be praised; when we wake in the morning, He is to be praised; as we go through the day, He is to be praised; when we lie down at night, He is to be praised.  “At all times” and “continually” aren’t just situational; they’re also spatial.  No matter where we are, whether we are alone; in a small, intimate setting; or in a large, corporate setting, the Lord is to be praised.  Unashamedly, we will offer the fruit of our lips in praise to the Lord no matter who is around.  We aren’t to ask for permission or seek the approval of others.  “I will” and “His praise shall” are personal declarations because the Lord is worthy.  Question:  Do you bless the Lord at all times, situational and spatial?  Is His praise continually in your mouth?  If not, why don’t you bless Him at all times and why isn’t His praise continually in your mouth?

My soul shall make her boast in the Lord:  the humble shall hear thereof, and be glad.  We are saved by grace through faith in Jesus Christ.  There is nothing that we can do to earn our salvation.  We can take no credit.  Jesus did it all; so, our boast must be in Him and Him alone.  God’s grace makes available to us everything that we need; so, our boast is in the Lord.  Reflecting upon all that the Lord has done for us is reason for us to boast in Him.  The “humble”/the helpless/those caught in the grip of sin will hear our testimony of the Lord’s goodness and find hope that what God has done for us, He can do for them.  Question:  Do you boast in the Lord or in yourself?  Do you let those around you who you know are lost and helpless know what the Lord has done for you?  If not, why not?

O magnify the LORD with me, and let us exalt His name together.  “Magnify” means to make great.  This is an invitation for others to join in and together, let us make great the name of the LORD.  Let us praise His name together.  God’s greatness is deserving of all of our praise.  Let us collectively tell of His good deeds on our behalf.  Question:  When is the last time that you’ve invited others to join you in praising God?  If you haven’t, why not?

Comments on: "Psalm 34:1-3" (7)

  1. Jacqueline said:

    This is right on time. The song I find myself singing through the day is Tye Tribett’s “Same God.” I was in a meeting today and I said prayerfully I will. I didn’t think twice about giving God the praise in my situation. I KNOW THAT I KNOW, that God is control of everything!

    Thank you Sherol for continuing your messages (even if I was convicted once 🙂 ). I may not comment but please know they provide encouragement. I am grateful for having you in my life and how God is using you in helping me with my walk. I love you.

  2. Tamika Brewer said:

    This is an on time message. My co-worker asked me today how am I able to hold it together under so much work and multiple projects. I told him, I have scripture that keeps me going and I set boundaries for myself to keep me from being overwhelmed, as I will never go back to where God brought me from a few years ago (burnt out and anxious). I thank God for the opportunity to witness to his goodness! My co-worker is a Christian who needed encouragement. I had to think if I wasn’t asked and I wasn’t sure his belief, would I have shared my testimony? That’s where God is growing me and calling me to be bold and exalt his name to anyone and everywhere.

  3. Dimple GR Bassett said:

    Thanks for this morning’s message, I am learning more and more to bless the Lord regardless in what state I am in. I declare that God is the greatness and the glory and the power and the majesty and the victory.
    Come on y’all and manify the Lord with me and bless his Holy name.

  4. Is His praise continually in my mouth? I have to say no, sometimes I forget that I am not in control of my life and He is. So no matter what it looks like, God is in control so I should be praising Him anyhow. As one songwriter says, praise God anyway, we should praise Him no matter what we are going through. I thank God and praise Him that He looks beyond my faults and sees my need. Thanks for this reminder to praise Him at all times.

  5. Good Word!!!

  6. Cathy Harris said:

    Thank you for this message. I continue to learn the importance of praising the Lord at all times. We often forget to praise the Lord when things are going well and seek for many blessings when things are not going our way. God is good to us and never wants us to be unhappy and we should remember to praise him at all times.

  7. Amen Tamika. God places us in publicly challenging circumstances, as Christians, that others may witness how He carries us through. Not only does He want others to notice how we manage to make it through, He encourages the curiosity of those same people so they inquire as to how we manage to get through. God opens doors that we might praise Him, exalt His name, show and tell people that we understand that it is only in God’s word and of His love for us that we exist, that we are able to go on. He gives us opportunities to explain that He, in and through Jesus, is our strength-that when we call on Him and place our trust in Him, exalt Him-in good times and in the bad-He is always there. Praise is what I must do when I am and when I am not going through. Thank You Father.

Leave a comment

Tag Cloud